Coconut Citrus Flapjacks

image

I have always been forthcoming about my oat obsession.  I can’t help it and I believe it’s because I was a horse in a former life.  I will eat anything with oats; muesli, porridge, cookies, cakes or flapjacks.  Flapjacks have enjoyed renewed popularity in recent years and there’s no denying their deliciousness.  I love them with a cup of tea and they are an easy to make, wholesome lunchbox filler for little people.  Flappjacks have been around for quite a while however, since at least the 17th Century.  The bould Willie Shakespeare himself was a divil for the flapjacks.  He even wrote about them in Act 2, Scene 1 of Pericles, Prince of Tyre.

” Come, thou shan’t go home, and we’ll have flesh for holidays, fish for fasting days, and moreo’er puddings and flapjacks and thou shalt be welcome”

Flapjacks typically require a lot of butter in their making and while I love butter (almost as much as I love oats!) too much of it can make your flapjacks oily and heavy.  I wanted to come up with a lighter alternative and wracked my brains until a big, shiny lightbulb went off over my head and I came up with coconut oil.  I recently started using it when cooking in a bid to be a little healthier and it’s versatility has been a revelation.  It works brilliantly for things like stir fries as it has a high smoke point but it’s fantastic for baking too.  This flapjack recipe also uses eggs, which I find helps make the flapjacks rise a bit and give them a lovely, chewy texture.

Ingredients:

125g oats

85g desiccated coconut

100g caster sugar

70g coconut oil

juice and zest of half a lemon and half a lime

pinch salt

2 eggs, beaten lightly

1.  Preheat your oven to 180 degrees celcius and line a large baking tray with grease proof paper.  2.  Using a bowl in the microwave or in a small pan, gently melt the coconut oil at a medium heat.  3. In a large bowl, place all your dry ingredients and mix.  4. Add the eggs to the dry ingredients, along with the lemon and lime juice and zest and the melted coconut oil.  5.  Mix really well (the mixture will be quite wet).  6.  Place large spoonfuls in big blobs on the lined baking tray and bake on the middle shelf for about 15 minutes, until golden.  7.  Allow to cool for 5 minutes before placing on a wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoy xxx

Leave a Reply

