Easy Muesli

It is so often said that breakfast is the most important meal of the day yet it so often gets forgotten. I’m a big fan of breakfast, whether it’s a big stack of American style pancakes with syrup oozing seductively down the sides or an indulgent and always satisfying full Irish. Most days however, elaborate morning meals are mere fantasy while hurriedly getting the children washed, fed, dressed and out the door for the preschool run. Breakfast in Casa Lucey usually involves oats in some form and they are a great morning time staple. I’m a lover of all things oat. I suspect I may have been some manner of equine in one of my previous lives. Perhaps I was an elegant Arabian steed with a beautiful flowing mane and graceful canter. Most likely though, I was a draught horse. Sturdy and loyal with a pleasant enough temperament. Could be worse I suppose.

Now, back to present day and oats. A superfood apparently. “Superfood” is often code for “give me all your money” but this is not the case with oats. Even the most cash strapped shopper can afford oats. I considered posting my granola recipe (which is sinfully tasty) but it being January, I’ll steer clear of the buckets of butter and honey that go into that one. Muesli, now that’s another matter. Much healthier altogether. I promise you, you will make it in less time than it takes to get in the car, go to the shop and buy some. It will also taste much better and will have no added sugar or salt. It will also cost you a lot less and it holds for ages in an airtight jar or container. So go on, try it. You just might never buy shop stuff again.

Ingredients:
500g oats ( regular porridge oats are fine but I used jumbo oats for extra bite)
100g walnuts broken into pieces
75g pumpkin seeds
150g sultanas

Feel free to mix and match your nuts, seeds and fruit. You can go all tropical with dried mango, pineapple and coconut or use apricots, figs or whatever dried fruit takes your fancy.

1. Preheat the oven to 130 degrees Celsius.
2. Scatter the oats, nuts and pumpkin seeds over two large baking trays and put them into the oven for 15 minutes. During this time you will need to toss them 3 or 4 times to avoid burning the nuts (they are more likely to burn because of their oil content).
3. When the oats become a light golden colour, take your muesli out and allow to cool
4. Add your dried fruit and store in an airtight container. I love my muesli with hot milk and a sprinkling of fresh berries but its great on it’s own with cold milk too.

20140122-081237.jpg

Leave a Reply

